Folkstage logo 06 - Copy small41.jpg jpp-live42.jpg nashville146.gif photos647.jpg
July 2, 2016

Part One:

Ralph & Carter Stanley & the Clinch Mountain Boys
At the University of Chicago Folk Festival, Mandel Hall
57th and University Ave., Chicago
February 5, 1961

  1. A Dream of a Miner's Child (trad)
  2. Angel Band (trad)
  3. The Wicked Path of Sin (Bill Monroe)
  4. Little Birdie (trad, arr.Ralph Stanley)

  5. How Far Is It to Little Rock (Arkansas Traveller) (trad)
  6. Rabbit in a Log (trad)
  7. Weary Bones (composer unidentified)

Part Two:

Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys at the University of Chicago Folk Festival,
Mandel Hall, Chicago, January 28, 1984
Ralph Stanley, banjo; Curly Ray Cline, fiddle; Junior Blankenship, guitar; Jack Cooke, bass; Charlie Sizemore, lead vocals

  1. Highway of Regret (Don Anthony-Ralph Stanley)
  2. Wayward Pilgrim (trad)
  3. Last Train Blues (trad)
  4. I Wonder How the Folks Are at Home (F.W.Vandersloot/Herbert S. Lambert)
  5. Sitting on Top of the World (PD)
  6. I'll Be There When the Sun Comes Up in the Morning (composer unidentified)
  7. I'm Willing to Try (composer unidentified, trad?)
  8. Little Maggie / Pretty Polly (trad)
  9. Oh Death (trad)
  10. The Boar Hog (trad)
  11. How Mountain Girls Can Love (Carter Stanley)
  12. Orange Blossom Special (Erwin Rouse) (encore)

Host/producer: Rich Warren
Engineer: first half unknown, second half Rich Warren